Friday, October 1, 2010

Hello, my name is Harry


I live in Gateshead in the north east of England, which is where I've always lived. Thought about leaving once or twice, but could never find a good enough reason, and now resist the very idea.

Married twice, no children, now in a happy relationship living together but apart. Or should that be living apart but together?

I've been drawing since I walked out of the Co-op at the age of four with an assistant's pencil stub in my hand. My mum didn't make me give it back, so my dad taught me how to draw cartoon spiders. Despite this early encouragement, I opted for sciences at school and had to make up for lost time when I left. Still making up for lost time many years later, I snatched early retirement from the hands of the Civil Service and went to Newcastle University to do a BA (Hons) in Fine Art ( a mixed blessing). Been a professional artist since I graduated in 2001.

In addition to more serious painting and drawing, I was once heavily involved in science fiction fandom and was Fan Guest of Honour at the World Science Fiction Convention in 1979, mainly for my cartoon contributions to fanzines.

I still cartoon now and then and my Moly additions have tended to be in that vein. I've been in Moly x 63 ("the Totem Pole Moly") since January last year and have done one addition to Michael Nightmare's rescued Piggy Moly.

This might be far more information than you wanted, but as you've been together for one whole round, it seemed probable that you've had more time to get to know one another, so here I am, making up for lost time again.

I haven't decided on a theme yet, or even if I want one. I liked the theme when we started Moly x 63, but can see the advantages of allowing the next person to riff on what I've just done.

2 comments:

3mw said...

Thanks for this Harry. Feel free to dig through the archives on here. If you jump back to the first month of this blog you can see our introductions. I think most of the info is still the same and we'll all get to know one another as we start this new round.
- Melissa, art teacher, wife, mother of a 5 year old :)

Kerry Mosley said...

Hi Harry - I'm Kerry, mother, artist/designer, lawyer,and West Yorkshire inhabitant with family ties in the North East. Looking forward to the next round of Moly x 25